The answer depends on what your definition is of a ‘country’.Here are the most common answers. According to UN there are 195 Countries. This is defined as place that has it’s own boarders and an independent government.
There are 193 official UN members with just 2 countries, Vatican City and Palestine classified as UN Observer States.Alongside those countries partially recognised, there are three more ’self-declared’ countries that the UN does not recognise but who still run independently.
Self identifying themselves, Nagorno-Karabakh, Transnistria and Somaliland are referred to as De Facto Sovereign States bringing the total up to 204.
Fifa are even more generous than the Olympics with 211 registered countries. They too do not require independence or international recognition.Fifa allows England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland to compete as separate teams, even though they’re all part of the UK.